News, Donor, Research and Innovation

Generous Donors Establish Three New Endowed Chairs

May 14, 2024

Committed, brilliant clinicians are key to providing world-class care, advancing cutting-edge research, and piloting one-of-a-kind treatments. Visionary donors who generously establish endowed chairs equip Children’s Colorado with perpetual resources to attract the country’s top pediatric experts; support and retain them as their careers flourish; and develop the next generation of physicians and scientists.

James Todd and Mimi Glodé Endowed Chair for Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology

In 2018, the Herdman Family established the James Todd and Mimi Glodé Fund for Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology to honor the outstanding achievements and careers of James Todd, MD, and Mimi Glodé, MD. In 2022, with additional contributions to the fund from the Herdmans and others, including the Todds and Glodés, the endowed fund was converted to the chair that Elizabeth McFarland, MD, is now honored to hold.

Drs. Todd and Glodé are leaders in these fields and worked collaboratively for decades.  Notably, Dr. Todd was the first physician to identify toxic shock syndrome in 1978.

Dr. Glodé developed the first effective treatment for Kawasaki’s disease. It’s particularly fitting that their legacies of care and research breakthroughs are honored through this endowed chair. 

Accomplished physician scientists, they made groundbreaking discoveries and established new treatments for life-threatening conditions.  These two doctors were instrumental mentors for Elizabeth McFarland, MD, the inaugural chairholder. Dr. McFarland has focused much of her career working in the field of HIV, making great progress in transforming a once fatal disease into a chronic condition that can be managed. “The funds generated through this endowed chair will contribute to changing child health throughout our community and around the world,” said Dr. McFarland.

Dale and Ciny Francescon Family Endowed Chair for Mood Disorders

A generous gift from Dale and Cindy Francescon, through their DCF Family Foundation, has established the Dale and Cindy Francescon Family Endowed Chair for Mood Disorders. This is the Francescon’s second significant commitment to Children’s Colorado and was inspired by a deeply personal desire to improve evidence-based pediatric mental health care, reduce youth suicide and help establish an Outpatient Mood Disorders Specialty Program.

The inaugural chairholder, Jessica Hawks, PhD, is a child and adolescent psychologist and the clinic director of the Pediatric Mental Health Institute at Children’s Colorado. She is also an associate professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. In her clinical director role, Dr. Hawks has led the design, implementation, and evaluation of evidence-based clinical services across the mental health service line, including innovative programming for youth experiencing a mental health crisis.  With this chair, she intends to build comprehensive, evidence-based outpatient specialty services for pediatric mood disorders, including developing a highly skilled mental health workforce and establishing critical family member supports for those who have a child who has attempted suicide or died by suicide.

Daniel Hyman Endowed Chair for Quality and Safety

Daniel Hyman, MD, served as Chief Medical and Quality Officer at Children’s Colorado for 12 years and is widely recognized as a national leader in pediatric patient safety and quality of care. During his tenure, Children’s Colorado was awarded the American Hospital Association – McKessen Quest for Quality Prize, which is presented annually to reward successful efforts to develop and promote a systems-based approach toward improvements in quality of care. Children’s Colorado was only the second pediatric hospital to receive the award.

The Daniel Hyman Endowed Chair for Quality and Safety recognizes Dr. Hyman’s considerable contributions during his tenure at Children’s Colorado. Thanks to several generous donors, Children’s Colorado endowed a chair in his honor and named Lalit Bajaj, MD, MPH, as inaugural chairholder. Dr. Bajaj currently leads the Department of Patient Safety, the Department of Clinical Effectiveness and the Department of Diversity, Health Equity & Inclusion and is Children’s Colorado’s Chief Quality Officer. With his chair appointment, Dr. Bajaj will continue to contribute to excellence in patient care and safety at Children’s Colorado.