News, Donor, Research and Innovation

Three Faculty Members Named as New Endowed Chairholders

July 12, 2022

Children’s Hospital Colorado recently named three faculty members as endowed chairholders. A named chair is a prestigious honor given by Children’s Colorado and is reserved for the most distinguished scientists, clinicians, academicians and leaders within the organization. Endowed chairs are critical to the hospital’s ability to attract, retain and promote outstanding health care professionals. There are now 61 endowed chairholders at Children’s Colorado.

“Through Craig Ponzio’s generosity, Children’s Colorado will establish the first pediatric genetic eye disease program in the region,” said Emily McCourt, MD, the inaugural Ponzio Family Chair for Pediatric Ophthalmology. “The impact this gift will have on children with blinding eye diseases will be remarkable. I am so grateful for this philanthropic support, which will help patients and families navigate a difficult diagnosis, and also create opportunities for research to cure childhood blindness.”

McCourt is the Chief of Pediatric Ophthalmology at Children’s Colorado. As a faculty member, Dr. McCourt has held multiple leadership roles including research director for the section. Dr. McCourt has received awards for patient satisfaction every year since 2017. She has almost 40 peer reviewed publications and her current research interests include pediatric keratoconus focusing on patients with Down Syndrome, retinopathy of prematurity, and pediatric syndromic retinal dystrophies.

The other new endowed chairholders are:

Robert Casey, PhD, Family Wellness Chair in the Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders
Casey, a pediatric psychologist with extensive experience treating children with cancer, launched Children’s Colorado’s research-based, multidisciplinary Wellness Program at the Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders more than 10 years ago. He conducts research to assess the psychosocial functioning of pediatric cancer patients and their families to provide evidence for clinical intervention.

Sarah Sarvis Milla, MD, FAAP John D. Strain, MD Endowed Chair for Radiology
Milla is the Chief of Radiology at Children’s Colorado and Vice Chair in the University of Colorado Department of Radiology. She is a Professor of Radiology and Pediatrics at the University of Colorado School of Medicine and is passionate about education, research and clinical service to the patients and communities served by Children’s Hospital Colorado. Milla has authored two books, collaboratively written more than 60 peer-reviewed journal articles and lectures nationally and internationally. Her current interests include supporting quality and safety initiatives in Radiology and cultivating compassion and communication skills in physicians and physician leaders. She is the President-elect of the Society of Chairs of Radiology at Children’s Hospitals. Milla is honored to be the inaugural John D. Strain Chair for Radiology. “Dr Strain worked at Children’s Hospital Colorado for 33 years, building one of the top pediatric radiology teams in the country through his nationally recognized leadership and a strong commitment to the Children’s Colorado community. I am honored to continue his legacy and work with this amazing team of compassionate, dedicated and innovative radiologists to provide the best imaging and image guided care for our patients and their families.”